# **Graduate Attributes**DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS

## Nobel Prizes in Economics

Between 1901 and 2016, the Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences were awarded 579 times to 911 people and organizations. With some receiving the Nobel Prize more than once, this makes a total of 881 individuals and 23 organizations. Below, you can view the full list of Nobel Prizes and Nobel Laureates.

### The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

#### 2016 Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmström

"for their contributions to contract theory"

#### 2015 Angus Deaton

"for his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare"

#### 2014 **Jean Tirole**

"for his analysis of market power and regulation"

#### 2013 Eugene F. Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert J. Shiller

"for their empirical analysis of asset prices"

#### 2012 Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley

"for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design"

#### 2011 Thomas J. Sargent and <u>Christopher A. Sims</u>

"for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy"

#### 2010 Peter A. Diamond, Dale T. Mortensen and Christopher A. Pissarides

"for their analysis of markets with search frictions"

#### 2009 Oliver E. Williamson

"for his analysis of economic governance, especially the boundaries of the firm"

#### 2008 **Paul Krugman**

"for his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity"

#### 2007 Leonid Hurwicz, Eric S. Maskin and Roger B. Myerson

"for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory"

#### 2006 Edmund S. Phelps

"for his analysis of intertemporal tradeoffs in macroeconomic policy"

#### 2005 **Robert J. Aumann** and **Thomas C. Schelling**

"for having enhanced our understanding of conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis"

#### 2004 Finn E. Kydland and Edward C. Prescott

"for their contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the time consistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles"

#### 2003 **Robert F. Engle III**

"for methods of analyzing economic time series with time-varying volatility (ARCH)"

#### **Clive W.J. Granger**

"for methods of analyzing economic time series with common trends (cointegration)"

#### 2002 **Daniel Kahneman**

"for having integrated insights from psychological research into economic science, especially concerning human judgment and decision-making under uncertainty"

#### Vernon L. Smith

"for having established laboratory experiments as a tool in empirical economic analysis, especially in the study of alternative market mechanisms"

#### 2001 George A. Akerlof, A. Michael Spence and Joseph E. Stiglitz

"for their analyses of markets with asymmetric information"

#### 2000 James J. Heckman

"for his development of theory and methods for analyzing selective samples"

#### Daniel L. McFadden

"for his development of theory and methods for analyzing discrete choice"

#### 1999 **Robert A. Mundell**

"for his analysis of monetary and fiscal policy under different exchange rate regimes and his analysis of optimum currency areas"

#### <u>Amartya Sen</u>

"for his contributions to welfare economics"

#### 1997 **Robert C. Merton** and **Myron S. Scholes**

"for a new method to determine the value of derivatives"

#### 1996 James A. Mirrlees and William Vickrey

"for their fundamental contributions to the economic theory of incentives under asymmetric information"

#### 1995 **Robert E. Lucas Jr.**

"for having developed and applied the hypothesis of rational expectations, and thereby having transformed macroeconomic analysis and deepened our understanding of economic policy"

#### 1994 John C. Harsanyi, John F. Nash Jr. and Reinhard Selten

"for their pioneering analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games"

#### 1993 **Robert W. Fogel** and **Douglass C. North**

"for having renewed research in economic history by applying economic theory and quantitative methods in order to explain economic and institutional change"

#### 1992 Gary S. Becker

"for having extended the domain of microeconomic analysis to a wide range of human behaviour and interaction, including nonmarket behaviour"

#### 1991 **Ronald H. Coase**

"for his discovery and clarification of the significance of transaction costs and property rights for the institutional structure and functioning of the economy"

#### Harry M. Markowitz, Merton H. Miller and William F. Sharpe

"for their pioneering work in the theory of financial economics"

#### 1989 **Trygve Haavelmo**

"for his clarification of the probability theory foundations of econometrics and his analyses of simultaneous economic structures"

#### 1988 Maurice Allais

"for his pioneering contributions to the theory of markets and efficient utilization of resources"

#### 1987 **Robert M. Solow**

"for his contributions to the theory of economic growth"

#### 1986 James M. Buchanan Jr.

"for his development of the contractual and constitutional bases for the theory of economic and political decision-making"

#### 1985 **Franco Modigliani**

"for his pioneering analyses of saving and of financial markets"

#### 1984 **Richard Stone**

"for having made fundamental contributions to the development of systems of national accounts and hence greatly improved the basis for empirical economic analysis"

#### 1983 <mark>Gerard Debreu</mark>

"for having incorporated new analytical methods into economic theory and for his rigorous reformulation of the theory of general equilibrium"

#### George J. Stigler

"for his seminal studies of industrial structures, functioning of markets and causes and effects of public regulation"

#### 1981 James Tobin

"for his analysis of financial markets and their relations to expenditure decisions, employment, production and prices"

#### 1980 Lawrence R. Klein

"for the creation of econometric models and the application to the analysis of economic fluctuations and economic policies"

#### 1979 **Theodore W. Schultz** and <u>Sir Arthur Lewis</u>

"for their pioneering research into economic development research with particular consideration of the problems of developing countries"

#### 1978 <u>Herbert A. Simon</u>

"for his pioneering research into the decision-making process within economic organizations"

#### 1977 Bertil Ohlin and James E. Meade

"for their pathbreaking contribution to the theory of international trade and international capital movements"

#### 1976 <u>Milton Friedman</u>

"for his achievements in the fields of consumption analysis, monetary history and theory and for his demonstration of the complexity of stabilization policy"

#### 1975 Leonid Vitaliyevich Kantorovich and Tjalling C. Koopmans

"for their contributions to the theory of optimum allocation of resources"

#### 1974 <u>Gunnar Myrdal</u> and <u>Friedrich August von Hayek</u>

"for their pioneering work in the theory of money and economic fluctuations and for their penetrating analysis of the interdependence of economic, social and institutional phenomena"

#### 1973 Wassily Leontief

"for the development of the input-output method and for its application to important economic problems"

#### 1972 John R. Hicks and Kenneth J. Arrow

"for their pioneering contributions to general economic equilibrium theory and welfare theory"

#### 1971 <u>Simon Kuznets</u>

"for his empirically founded interpretation of economic growth which has led to new and deepened insight into the economic and social structure and process of development"

#### 1970 **Paul A. Samuelson**

"for the scientific work through which he has developed static and dynamic economic theory and actively contributed to raising the level of analysis in economic science"

#### 1969 Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen

"for having developed and applied dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes"